493. Sunday 22nd May 2016. Dental blues, a head cold and one of us goes to Canada…

It will be a short post this week as will become obvious as you read on.

Tuesday 17th May

Went for our semi regular walks along the beach at Southport.

Busloads of these tourists laugh and giggle and pose and splash about in the water like little kids seeing the ocean for the first time.
Busloads of these tourists laugh and giggle and pose and splash about in the water like little kids seeing the ocean for the first time.

Bad news on the doorstep

I couldn’t take one more step

Sometime after 5pm got a call from the dental hospital. I thought it might be in connection with the root canal and crown being organised to commence next Thursday.

Nope.

It is a result of some radiographs I had earlier this year. The radiographs were to follow up on earlier x-rays taken last year which show a black shadow above my front top teeth. It indicates a periapical cyst and needs to be removed surgically…sooner rather than later. (it also explains when the dentist touched my two top teeth with a cotton bud dipped in liquid hydrogen I felt nothing.)

Gulp!

Thursday 19th May

The dental student called tonight. I will have a dental surgeon  carry out the procedure under local anaesthetic where they cut into the gum, peel it back to expose the cyst and scrape all the cyst and any infected bone before closing the wound with sutures. Boy, am I looking forward to the initial palate injection. Lucky me I have two weeks to think about this!

In the evening I complained of a sore swollen gland in my throat, a toothache, headache and general all over unwell.

Friday 20th May

Went for walk along Southport beach.

Busloads of these tourists laugh and giggle and pose and splash about in the water like little kids seeing the ocean for the first time.
Busloads of these tourists laugh and giggle and pose and splash about in the water like little kids seeing the ocean for the first time.

Arriving home my symptoms from yesterday are worse and I had no appetite for dinner. I feel cold.

Skipping dinner I showered and prepared to go to bed early. Then I realised the Cowboys play the Broncos tonight. Somehow I found the energy to rug up and watch the game. It was a totally thrilling game which the Cowboys won 19 -18 with a field goal 10 minutes before full time. Good golly miss molly. This game was almost a replay of the last time these two met. One earlier this year was won by the Broncos by one point. The time before that was in the 2015 Grand Final which the Cowboys won by a one point from a field goal in extra time sudden death.

Saturday 21st May

Glenda came over for a walk but I was too unwell so went back to bed leaving Donnis to go on their walk alone. They continued on to Broabbeach and watched some of the free Blues Music Festival. I stayed home in bed and slept. I was too miserable to do much of anything else.

Some of my appetite has returned but all symptoms persist. I suspect the swollen sinuses could be giving the sensation of  the toothache.

Sunday 22nd May

Up at 5am to drive Donnis to the Brisbane International Airport. She made the decision this time last week to fly back to Canada to visit her family. Her mum is in a nursing home and not doing well. She is not eating and stays in bed most of the time not even cussing out all those around.

Donnis will be gone for two months.

Sob Sob!!!

Boo Hoo!

What with the bad news from the dentist and the head cold and Donnis leaving abruptly I have not felt well enough to write up the blog until now.

Leave a Reply

